Play with fire

And you’re bound to get burned.

That’s what they told you,

And boy, they were right.

But I’m not an extinguishable flame.

I’m not a fleeting flicker in your life.

Boy, I’m so much more dangerous

Than a meek little spark.

I’m the caress of the waves

Lapping your feet in summer’s sweet heat.

I’m the calm of the sea 

Dancing with the setting sun.

I’m the adventurous ripetide,

Prying your toes from the safety of shore.

I’m the foaming crests,

Thrilling your boat through the storm.

I’m the uncontainable power

Pulling you under then lifting you high.

Boy, I’m an ocean.

Come master my waves.

***

This one has been pulled from the archives. I forgot to wrote something earlier, and being away from my laptop (at a friend’s house) has killed any late-night ambitions I my have had. I hope you don’t mind this randomly selected copy-and-paste piece.

Leave a Reply

