High above the world

I sit and ponder.

It is all so very small,

Each house a little spot

And each human a little speck.

Everything is all so tiny,

But my sight has grown immensely.

I see all the mountains.

They were once far too large to appreciate.

I see every single tree,

Even the ones in the middle of the thickest wood.

I see the ocean’s edge,

So many miles away.

I see an entire lake,

And every island within its mass.

I am so high above it all

That I can see it all.

I want to stay this high forever,

But I cannot see the stories.

I cannot know the truths and lies

From so far up above.

I can only learn those

As a speck myself.

And so I leave my mountain’s edge

And descend once more.

maidens-cliff

Photo taken near the Maiden’s Cliff trail summit, Camden, ME.

Leave a Reply

