Bland and unmemorable,

The edible kin of Stephenie Meyer’s vocabulary in Twilight,

It struggles to find use as even a filler cheese.

Oh, how I hate ricotta.

Dull and mushy,

Nothing without the aid of other flavors,

Yet, somehow, a dream among the cheeses when dancing with preserves.

Oh, how I dislike brie.

Sharp and melty,

The most versatile of all the cheeses,

Its applications are limitless as it frolics across the cheese-based dishes.

Oh, how I like cheddar.

Smokey and strong,

An alpha in the cheese department at Hannaford’s,

It’s a cheese I could consume by the wedge.

Oh, how I love Gouda.


I the inspiration for this poem came from poetryprompts.tumblr.com. It was “Choose four different things: one that you hate, dislike, like, and love. Make sure all are relatively related (all foods or personality traits or colors). Write a poem in which you include this spectrum of things you care very differently about and the relationship between the chosen things.”

In case you didn’t notice, I chose to go with one of my favorite topics: cheese. I would like to take this moment to point out that I don’t actually dislike any of these cheeses 100%. Ricotta and brie are just better mixed with things than they are stand-alone cheeses. However, ricotta is the most replaceable of all the cheeses I have ever tasted…

Leave a Reply

