I’m pulling a poem out of my notebook from my Newfoundland trip. I’m even including a beach picture! The picture is from a beach near Green Point Campgrounds in Gros Morne National Park. I wrote the poem on the same beach. Enjoy!


Sea Trash

Sea trash, sea trash,

On the sea shore

How strong is your number,

One, two, three, four, more?

 

You lodge in the rocks

Through tides high and low.

You maim this beach

Beneath the sun’s polluted glow.

 

Your neighbors in the deep

Lie far off shore

Where lives they take

And beauty they score.

 

Your cousins in the swamps

Sink deep in the ground,

And your friends in the landfills

Rise up in great mounds.

 

Alongside the road,

Growing each day,

Lurk your brothers and sisters

Where forever they’ll stay.

 

Deep in the woods

Hide your coworkers of glass,

And high in the sky,

The pollutants fly past.

 

Oil from your mother

Leaks into the river

Where a shake bottle floats

Shrieking “get slimmer!”

 

Even in space

Have you left your mark.

To nature’s purity

Your bleak message glows stark.

 

Sea trash, sea trash,

The world you kill not

For life can survive

Even in the bleakest of spots.

 

You kill not the world,

Only parts and mankind.

Our home will recover

And leave us behind.

KODAK Digital Still Camera
Beached tire near Green Point Campground, Gros Morne National Park, NL, Canada

After rereading this, I think I have changed my mind about how much I like it. I played a little too much with language patterns, I think. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

