Late and Lazy

Sorry for the lateness of this post. I had a wild day yesterday, including shopping with a friend (I got some awesome new teacher clothes and some great new music!), and then Gamefest all night. And today has been loaded with things like racquetball, swimming, and longboarding. I’m wicked sore, with new bruises from speedy rubber balls and one giant scrape on my knee from my most awesome/painful longboarding crash yet, so I cheating tonight and posting an older poem. It is far from being one of my favorites, but it will have to do for now. Please leave any thoughts or questions in the comments!

PS: Father, I know it doesn’t rhyme every line. If you don’t want to think of it as a poem, just think of it like a broken up series or paragraphs.

Enjoy!

 

One thousand hopes

One little girl

One thousand problems

One giant world

 

How can I change it?

How can I try?

How Can I help?

How can I fly?

 

Why are they starving?

Why are they lying?

Why are they scared?

Why are they crying?

 

When will they stop it?

When will the see?

When will they start?

When will they flee?

 

You’re not helping!

You’re not in need of comfort!

You’re making it worse!

You’re prayers need effort!

 

When rape and hate are lies

When our protectors need protecting

When rape and hate are real

When our protectors are failing

 

I am too small

I cannot save you

I cannot be enough

I need help too

 

Can I be the butterfly?

Can I spark the fire?

Can I tip the stone?

Can I light the world’s desire?

 

One thousand hopes

One little girl

One thousand problems

One giant world

 

Leave a Reply

