**Sorry this is getting posted late. I apparently never actually hit the publish button last night. You didn’t miss much, as this was a short piece anyway.**

Today, I have decided to make a list of my personal mantras that get me through each day as I deal with the stress of just being a human. So here goes!

  1. When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. This classic saying always reminds me to try to find the good within the bad. I also really love lemonade and all other things lemony.
  2. Life sucks and then you die, so make the most of what you’ve got. Because I feel the need to protect my bitter reputation, I rarely say the second part of that sentence aloud, but I always have it ringing in the back of my mind. I think of this when life gets me wicked down because it reminds me that yeah, there’s a lot of bad in life, but you can always make something great out of the scraps from the bad. You just have to have a hefty dose of determination with a substantial helping of creativity.
  3. Step away until you can say, “It’ll be okay.” I love how this rhymes! I blame my father for the obnoxious appreciation of rhymes that led to the creation of this mantra (he doesn’t consider poetry to be poetry unless it rhymes). Anyway, my version of “stepping away” usually means going to work where I either get to jam to my favorite music while watching patrons in a pool, talk with some of my favorite dry-land patrons while I clean the gym equipment, or teach adorable little spawnlings how to swim (they give me small human hugs, too!). After a shift at my home-away-from home (aka, the fitness center), I am usually ready to deal with whatever has been bothering me.
  4. Burn the bad. This is a more recent addition to my collection of mantras. Since I started college, I’ve had to learn to let go of a lot of the things that kept me from thriving. These have included inhibitions, people, and many of the craps I give about what people think. ‘Burning’ all this negative stuff has paid off. I am much more satisfied with who I am today than I was when I first started college. Also, if you are one of the people reading this who has not been ‘burned,’ thanks for not making yourself into an ugly piece of firewood just begging to be lit up.

Please note that I am not actually burning people or things; this is a metaphor.

  1. Everything happens for a reason. This mantra is especially important to me because I believe that everything that has happened to me in my 20 years of life has made me who I am today. Everything from the heartbreaking bad to the I’m-so-happy-I-could-fly good has contributed to the person writing this post. Even if I don’t know why it happened, I would never risk changing it. What if I became a terrible person or lost any of my endearing qualities, such as my sarcasm? It would be horrible.
  2. Be the person you wish you knew. I always try to be the person I wish I knew growing up or that I had as a friend (not that I would ever change any of my friends. Seriously guys please don’t hate me). I want to be the kind of person who cares about the world and nature and people who need someone to care about them. I want to be the person who is a great role model for little kids and who makes people smile when they need it the most.
  3. Live your life with mistakes, and you will have no regrets. This final mantra is most important to me because it embodies the way I want to live my life. The feeling of regret is honestly my least favorite. I would have made a million mistakes than have a single regret. Why? Because mistakes mean that I tried, while regrets mean I did not. I know that’s not the textbook definition, but it is my definition, and that’s what’s important.

Well, times to head off to bed. I hope you enjoyed these mantras, and feel free to let me know about your personal mottos in the comments!

Leave a Reply

