Hello again!

Today’s blog post is going to be a myriad of unrelated things.

To start things off, let’s get some music going in the background. Turn this on and then just keep reading.

This is my favorite song at the moment. It’s Pachelbel’s Cannon in D (don’t I sound smart saying that?), and I have fallen in love with it every time it comes on my Pandora play list. It doesn’t matter what version of the song it is, I just find it so hopeful and soothing. I can be a pessimist quite often, but this song brings out my inner optimist!

 

This week has been a little wild for me. I managed to get over 20 hours in at work because I took some extra shifts this week. That might not seem like much, but when half of them are accumulated from teaching swim lessons (1-2 hour intervals), it makes for a long work week. Especially when you add up the chunk of time taken out of my day for changing into swim suits, travel, and the various other prep.

I wouldn’t change it for the world though. I even had the opportunity to guard for the local Special Olympic swim meet in my area! It was pretty low-key, with only about 40 people on the pool deck, but by golly were those swimmers happy! It was not an easy shift by far, but it was worth it. Rather than just sitting in a guard chair watching our patrons splash and splash, my coworker, Erica, and I kept ourselves busy moving lane lines, helping people in and out of the pool, and telling the swimmers how wonderfully they did when they asked. Getting to see the smiles on their faces was amazing.

The individuals running the meet were great with the swimmers as well. At the beginning of the meet, the woman running the microphone recognized the guards and asked everyone to stand and give us a round of applause. She even explained to everyone that if they got in trouble in the water, we would be the ones to help them and make sure they were okay. Erica actually ended up jumping in to help a swimmer who grabbed onto the lane line because she was too tired to finish her event. It was not a life-threatening emergency, but it was an educational experience for anyone who had never seen a lifeguard make a rescue before, and I was so proud to be a part of it, even if I was only the secondary responder.

 

We’re going to move on from my deep and emotional reflections in favor of an idea I have been toying with for a while. Introducing…

Kat’s Top Apps!

Plant Nanny

This health app helps you stay hydrated! If you’re anything like me, it is also a way for you to raise plants without killing them (Jose, Josephina, and Adolf are all doing quite wonderfully still).  You start by selecting a plant and a pot for it to live in. The free options are a dandelion and a devil’s ivy, but as you raise more plants, you can earn seeds and buy fancier ones! Once you have your baby plant set up, you alter the settings to match your weight and daily exercise, create a virtual cup to match whatever you prefer to consume water from, and start drinking!

I love this app because I love being well-hydrated. It estimates the amount of water I need to be healthy, and it helps me keep track of it. I also love the faces on the little plants! Currently, I have two in my garden (where they go to live and produce seeds once they are all grown up) in addition to the little guy I’m growing now.

Ads: You have the option to pay to remove adds, but I haven’t had any problems with them interrupting gameplay any more than the usual free-to-play ads do.

 

Sudoku

I have the Sudoku app from Genina.com. This app is pretty customizable, easy to use, and has a variety of levels for you to choose from.

I love playing Sudoku before going to bed, and since I haven’t bought a fresh book, this app is my way of getting my nightly puzzle in. The numbers and logic of the gameplay help my mind relax and prepare for sleep. Yes, I know that the backlight from my phone is not good to stare at right before going to bed; yes, I will live in denial. I enjoy this app because of the customizable settings and the optional timer in case I want to beet my personal best.

There is not a lot in the lines of a tutorial to teach you to play Sudoku, however, the “how-to” section of the menu is very straight forward, and you should be able to figure it out from playing the easy level for a while.

12381244_1149447085079357_462219599_o

Ads: There are a few pop-up ads, but they don’t really interrupt game play. The rest of the ads are just banners that stay well away from any of the buttons you need to use. The option to pay to remove them is also available.

 

Taptastic

If you like discovering fledgling artists and reading mini comics, Taptastic is the app for you! You make a simple account, and that one action grants you access to thousands of comics from amateur sketchers, the creators of the comics that become Facebook memes, and everything in between! If you have no idea what you are looking for in a comic, the app generates a daily “comic snack” for you to peruse. These snacks are made up of a handful of comics that appear when you open the app. If you find a series or artist that you like, you just click the subscribe button and you can see everything from them!

I love this app because it gives me on-the-go reading material that is light and fast. My personal favorites are The GaMERCaT and The Pigeon Gazette, though I’m subscribed to over a dozen different comic series. You might also be familiar with Sarah’s Scribbles as they tend to show up on Facebook.

12722720_1149456241745108_1177026689_o

Ads: There’s no ads! Unless you count some artists making comics to promote merchandise from the comic series you’re reading, but those are quality ads. Owlturd Comix periodically creates hilarious, quality ads to sell T-shirts. You should check them out.

 

With that, I leave you with one last question, dear followers: Did you like having music going in the background? I have wanted to include a link to some good music in past posts, but I didn’t know if that would be overstepping my boundaries. Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

